Mainland expect to continue dominance at Futsal Youth Nationals

The six Mainland Futsal age-group sides have high expectations for the seventh edition of NZF National Youth Futsal Championships, beginning Friday 14th July, at Palmerston North’s Central Energy Trust Arena.

The confidence is warranted with the Mainland sides winning 3 of 5 titles on offer at the 2016 event.

Mainland’s Futsal Development Officer (FDO), Ronan Naicker suggests his Federation will be “wearing a target on our back again, with particular strength in both girls divisions and the 16 boys, and serious potential in the 14 and 19 boys sides too – both have strong squads – but we are hoping for the best for all our sides.”

Naicker believes the major competition for overall honours will come from the Capital and WaiBOP Federations.

“We are expecting this year’s champs to be the strongest edition yet, given the recent announcement of a national pathway becoming available, with 3 new national teams to be announced later in the year.”

“I also see the strong push on coach development through education, as being a real positive for all regions, and we should see a real lift in the technical ability of players and structure to the play this year.”

The main concern for Naicker comes from an outside factor – the weather. With flight cancellations and the fact some teams are driving down from the north, Mainland will not know the final makeup of its opposition until they see who has made it through the adverse weather to reach the venue.

“All we really know is that Central and Capital will be the only regions potentially unaffected by the mid-winter storm ravaging the central North Island, everyone else will have added adversity to overcome before the first game even gets underway.”

NZF Futsal National Youth Championships

Central Energy Trust Arena, Palmerston North
Friday 14 July to Sunday 16 July

LIVE streaming of selected games is available here

The full draw and results are available here

To follow all the action please visit www.facebook/NZFFutsal

Mainland Squads as follows: –

12s Boys

Coach: Andrew Regaldo

Callum  De Klerk
Rheon Salt
Harry Dufton (GK)
Finlay Cotton
Liam Murdoch
Lewis Partridge
Flynn O’Conner
Jack Castle

14s Boys

Coach: David Murdoch

Jonathan Sims
Calum Murdoch
Kosei Oikawa
Kyle Goosen
Luke White
Oliver Cosgrove
Will Pierce
Fin Mounty (GK)

16s Boys

Coach: James Vallance

Shaun Regaldo
Olliver Sims
Ben Cameron
Mika Rabuka
Jack Chapman
Matthew Palmer
Joe Hoole
Sam Richards
Tyler Clink (Gk)
Matt Rogers (Gk)

19s Boys

Coach: Shannen Vailu’u

Lewis Guy (Gk)
Jack Woolcott (Gk)
Ryan Nicholson
Cameron Emberton
Benjamin Lapslie
Matthew Bergin
Lewis Cumiskey
Jake Neill
Wiari Rushbridge
Jacob Grosvenor

15s Girls

Coach: Sam Lapslie

Jazmine Tufau (Gk)
Sophie Vos
Ella Fong
Jennifer Merkin
Macey Fraser
Ella Jackson
Jasmine Ball
Alyssa Whinham

19s Girls

Coach: Pam Fraser
Assistant Coach: Ronan Naicker

Hannah Hegarty (GK)
McKenzie Falcao (GK)
Sophie Williams
Britney-lee Nicholson
Maggie Anderson
Tahlia Herman-Watt
Lilly Fisher
Charlotte Merkin
Connor Duggan
Gabbie Rennie